Go Dragons! Director of Marketing Carrie Chen debuts new flags as she cheers for HKIS at a soccer game.
Dear HKIS Community,
It’s June 2024! With only one week left before summer break, it’s time to celebrate the great moments that marked our school year.

In this issue, you will learn more about the story of the red ribbon. You’ve undoubtedly seen this beautiful, flowing motif on the brand-new website. And if you attended the Spring Celebration on May 3, you saw the red ribbon flow through the entire event. What does this ribbon mean to you? I hope you see yourself in the ribbon and will discover how you are part of this community.

This year’s Bob Christian Alumni Award winner is Natasha Khan ‘03. Her commitment to her career as a New York-based reporter at the Wall Street Journal and contributions to the HKIS student and alum community make us proud to call her an HKIS Alum. Hear her address to the community.

This Spring, we say farewell to three HKIS mainstays over the past two decades: Maureen McCann, Vicky Seehafer, and Ka Wing Chiu. Read about their journeys at HKIS and see who else will bid farewell to HKIS, including our 2024 graduates. We also celebrate the life of beloved Science teacher Larry Eichert, who taught at HKIS from 1988 to 2005 and passed away in May. It is our honor to spotlight those who travel through our history and impact our community.

We enjoyed food celebrations, student travel, parent volunteering, professional learning, and schoolwide community gatherings. We’ve missed these gems in recent years. So take a breath and savor the memories created this year.

Have a wonderful summer,

Carrie Chen
Director of Marketing
The HKIS Advancement Office, made up of the Marketing Team and Development Team, gather for a quick photo at the Spring Celebration.
This issue of DragonTales was produced by the HKIS Marketing Team–Carrie Chen, Timothy Loo, Debbie Ky, Stephanie Yau and editorial interns Toby Chen '25 and Annicka Sen '25.

With contributions from Nancy Kroonenberg, Hillary Sandeen, Mike Kersten, Zeta Thompson, Alessandro Bisagni '02, and Jim Handrich.